I thought I was old!

I Thought I Was Old!
  by Trudy A. Martinez
 
Taking an aerobic swim class can be fun. 
 
 I thought I was too old.  I am sixty-five. To top it off, I am on a short lease so-to-speak:  The oxygen tube line only lets me go so far.  That is okay.  But when there is a current (and there always is with everyone stirring up the water to do the exercises), I seem to drift, making the work effort and the struggle to get back into a safe place and keep from dragging the tank into the water with me all the harder.  
 
Most would say the safest place for me is on the side lines. but I disagree.  I have never, at least  not yet,  pulled the tank in with me.  Although the tank has been christened, I didn’t do it.  It doesn’t float!  Take my word for it.  It is heavy and sinks to the bottom of the pool immediately.
 
Bubbles came popping up to the surface.  No, I didn’t fart!  The tank did!  There was a leak in the hose the day it joined me in the deep-end of the pool.  It was quite funny.  The person who pulled it in will never forget, especially since everyone keeps reminding her to keep her eyes open and stay clear of the (invisible) line. Two young men came to the rescue, pulling the tank from the water and setting it back on the edge.  It was a lot harder getting the tank out of the pool then it was getting it in!
 
Anyways, the instructor is 76.  I have difficulty keeping up with her, but at least I am trying.
She does this for a living.  My daughter who goes swimming with me said she had a real work out.  She was amazed what this woman does, not just the hour that we are there but also the hours of classes she teaches daily.  She isn’t on the side lines telling those in the water what and how to do it; she is in the pool doing it with us.
 
I wish I still had the shape and stamina I did when I wore this “Yellow poke-a-dot bikini.”
 It brings back the memories of those good old days.
 
About gramatrudy

BA degree in English with a single subject certification 1994 I enjoy writing, art (all forms), quilting, sewing, embroidery, photography (still and video), and most of all, my grandchildren.
This entry was posted in History, Jounal entry, Life's lessons, memories, rhetoric, short story, That's Life! and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to I thought I was old!

  1. Pingback: I thought I was old! | Grama's space bubble

Leave a Reply

