Uncle Chris, my friend by Trudy A. Martinez

 Uncle Chris, My Friend 
By Trudy A. Martinez
 
CHRIS DAGUIO
 
Came:  March 03, 1906—–Went: March 05, 1999
In Between, he left 93 years of memories
 
 
WHO KNEW?
 
Who was he?
He was my friend.
Never will there be
One like him again.
 
Who Knew?
He was a quiet man:
Giiving, Faithful,and True!
Rarely did he speak . . . Unless spoken to.
 
Who Knew?  Who Knew?
He was a Seaman:
Most of his life–living on the ocean blue,
Giving of himself,
Being Faithful,
And making dreams come true.
 
Who Knew?  Who Knew? Who Knew?
He was a he-man,
Not a give-it-to-me man.
He could move a mountain for a friend.
 
Who Knew?
Very few words could explain
Just what he meant to be,
Just what he meant to me,
Just what he meant to you?
 
Who Knew?  Who Knew?
In such a small frame
So much love grew
And grew and grew.
 
Who Knew?  Who Knew?  Who Knew?
The seeds that he sowed would continue to grow,
Harvesting love for you and me.
Who Knew?
 
Trudy Martinez
About gramatrudy

BA degree in English with a single subject certification 1994 I enjoy writing, art (all forms), quilting, sewing, embroidery, photography (still and video), and most of all, my grandchildren.
This entry was posted in Out of Sight, Poems and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Uncle Chris, my friend by Trudy A. Martinez

  1. Ghalya says:

    Hey, nice writing.. I wish I can full my space like this with blogs.. nice picture too..You are not too old to say so, you have young mind.. An example of this is your space.. how could you do it id you are old..I love this "Who knew" blog.. it\’s interesting..I would like to know you more, if you don\’t mide.. see yuo later..take care..Ghalya.. 🙂

Leave a Reply

