No Alternative

 
                                                  No Alternative
                                                    By Trudy A. Martinez
 
Here I sit feeling guilty.  For what reason am I feeling guilty?  I am not illegally parked.  I’m entitled to park here.  Nevertheless, the sign in front of me creates quilt feelings.  The color of the sign , I am sure, is meant to bring on a feeling of restfulness; but instead it brings on sadness, reminding me of the words of a song:  “Blue Moon, why are you standing alone?”
 
Is standing the key?  Are these feelings manifested because the symbol depicts a person in a wheel chair?  In actuality, the person on the sign is the wheelchair!  This space is not meant for wheel chair parking:  it’s for vehicles belonging to those who have a medical need.  Their need may or may not constitute use of a wheel chair.  The majority of the users of these spaces walk with the use of other apparatus or have a deficiency hindering their ability to travel far.  Watching who use these spaces, produce very few in wheel chairs.  So why does the sign depict a wheel chair?
 
Alternatives, such as the word disabled, are not much better.  The word disabled disqualifies the person in the eyes of society even though he or she may be quite capable of performing in other capacities exceedingly well and may even surpass those more physically inclined. 
 
Well then, I can not let this sign persuade me to feel quilt.  My persuasion must come from within.
 
About gramatrudy

BA degree in English with a single subject certification 1994 I enjoy writing, art (all forms), quilting, sewing, embroidery, photography (still and video), and most of all, my grandchildren.
This entry was posted in Jounal entry and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

