Abandoned and Home Alone

  

Abandoned and Home Alone

By Trudy A. Martinez

Why does she leave me here alone?  When she leaves, she’s gone for days at a time.  I’m left alone, locked in, feeling sorry for myself.  I mope around and sleep more than I should.  But what is someone to do when your left alone for days on end.  I can’t leave; I can’t reach the door knob; I can’t open it.  I can only sit and look out the window at everyone outside living life to the fullest. 

 I guess you might say, I’m depressed.  How lonely I get.  I tend to get in mischief when I am left alone.  I think I do it just to get back at her for going off.  After all, turn around is fair play.  Isn’t it?  It’s fun to do things you’re not suppose to do.  I remember once, when I was feeling down and a little possessive too, I went upstairs to sit and look out the window at everyone playing on the green grass. 

But when I got to my favorite chair, I found it occupied with a stack of papers.  “That’s my chair!” I exclaimed.  I quickly threw all the papers on the floor.  But I didn’t stop there.  I was still upset because she left me again.  So, I tore the papers into little bits; I shredded them!  I even made sure if she were able to glue them back together she would not be able to read them because I poked them full of holes.  The ink ran on some of the pieces because I put them in my mouth and got them wet. 

Oh was she mad when she saw what I did.  I sure got her attention.  She yelled, “My papers!”

Well, they were her papers and she can have them now.  I had my fun.  I’ll bet she’ll think twice before she puts anything on my chair again.  She was almost in tears; she stood and glared at me; she didn’t even blink.  “Hasn’t she learned by now I can out stare her?” I thought.  It was as if she were getting ready to attack me.  I wasn’t going to back down–I stared back. 

When she reached for me and grabbed me by the back of my neck, I wasn’t scared.  I didn’t yell out; I didn’t fight back.  I did get my motor running though–you know–I started purring.  That always gets her to smile again.  Then, she started petting me.  She loves me no matter how mischievous I am or what I’ve been into.  I love her too.  But I hate it when she leaves me here alone.

 

 

Technorati tags: ,

 

Comments

Click to view previous 20 commentsClick to view next 20 comments

  • See the new information on this person's contact cardGramaTrudy  Writing this journal entry helped me to work out the pain I was feeling.  It is a lonely pain.  My cat, Kit, went outside (in my backyard) and never came back.  I’ve been teary eyed ever since.  I haven’t been able to concentrate.  I’ve been too sad.  Sometimes my only  contact with anyone is with my cat.  I call her Kit because even though she is full grown, she is small like a kitten.  I decided to write as if I were her because in a way the tables are turned.  I usually leave her for a few days by herself — now here I am grieving because she has left me here alone.  The process of writing as if I was her made me feel somewhat better.  But there is still an empty place inside me that will never be filled if she doesn’t come back.  I love her as if she were my child.  How could I be so insensitive?  How could I have left her here alone?June 19 2:34 PM
    (http://gramashouse0ne.spaces.msn.com/)
About gramatrudy

BA degree in English with a single subject certification 1994 I enjoy writing, art (all forms), quilting, sewing, embroidery, photography (still and video), and most of all, my grandchildren.
This entry was posted in Animals, Children, Jounal entry, short story and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Abandoned and Home Alone

  1. Pingback: Abandoned and Home Alone | Grama's space bubble

Leave a Reply

