“Sweet Dreams”

Girl looking at cupcakes

Sweet Dreams by Sandra Breitengross Bitter

A few years back when my granddaughter (and roommate) first showed an interest in photography, I loaned her my camera so she could take a class.  At that time, the camera (a Canon) was near top of the line; it had all the “wolf’s and whistles” the average person dreamt of and nearly all the attachments.  (Of course, that was before digital cameras took over the photography industry.)  Sandra made a promise, “I’ll be careful with it.  Thank you Grama.”  It was thrilling for her just being able to use it. 

The camera was my pride and joy.  I loved taking pictures.  I purchased it with award monies I received from work.  I really could not afford to buy a camera like that.  I only did because I believe award monies should be spent on dreams.  The camera was my dream.  Shortly there after, I took that camera on a dream trip to England for five months with the local college (Cerro Coso Community College (CCCC)).  While I was in England, I snapped hundreds of shots and did the same in Paris and in Venice while on Spring Break.

Sandra put her all into that class.  As a result, photography became her passion and her avenue of expression and release, her Art of choice.  Excitement spills out onto to her canvas, so to speak, as each photo she produces emphasizes her love for the art and her subjects.  She chooses wisely.  When she graduated, I gave her my prize possession, the camera, and all its attachments, along with encouragement to continue with her endeavor, her love of The Art of Photography.  Even though she loved photography and did not forsake her passion for it, she was practical and chose a different major. 

Years have gone by.  She works in her major field of study in Washington, DC.  Nevertheless, her passionate dream (photography) lurks in the background, seeking a release.  She now has one of those new fangled digital cameras that do everything.  She put it to work at the grand opening of the Alexandria Cupcake in Virginia.  Covering the event ignited that passion again. 

An e-mail came exclaiming, “WHOOOTWOOO! . . .  I got my first photography credit!  Check out the pictures on this blog!  http://bellehaven.patch.com/articles/the-icing-on-the-cupcake . “Sandra gave me a link to the rest of her pictures.  My favorite is the one of a little girl looking in the window at all the yummy cupcakes.  Sandra did not mention giving it a name.  It does not matter.  I gave it one myself.  I call it “Sweet Dreams”.  Isn’t that what the little girl is doing?  She is dreaming of the sweets just beyond her reach behind the window. 

The photo is a work of art.  It is reminiscent of Norman Rockwell’s drawings.  What do you think?

About gramatrudy

BA degree in English with a single subject certification 1994 I enjoy writing, art (all forms), quilting, sewing, embroidery, photography (still and video), and most of all, my grandchildren.
This entry was posted in Art, photography and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to “Sweet Dreams”

  1. david says:

    give me now

Leave a Reply

