Granny

This childhood memory is an edited version of a previous posting.

Grama's space bubble

Granny
By Trudy A. Martinez
Granny
Posted on May 17, 2006by gramatrudy
Granny
By Trudy A. Martinez

Normally in the morning when my grandmother awakes, my aunt will attend to her needs, but this summer, I am to be her little helper. When I agreed to be her little helper, I had no idea that she would be my alarm clock. Promptly at 5:00 A.M., she goes off: “TRU-U-U DY.” she calls out, pronouncing each syllable of my name separately as if to transform it from one name into two. The sound of the vowel is intense, imitating the doleful howl of a wolf.

“TRU-U-U DY,” she repeats. As the stress of the syllables gain intensity, the tone of her voice rises, producing an irritating ring in my ear. Then just as abruptly, her voice drops to a sweet mellow tone that sounds almost like a whisper. “Are you up…

View original post 760 more words

About gramatrudy

BA degree in English with a single subject certification 1994 I enjoy writing, art (all forms), quilting, sewing, embroidery, photography (still and video), and most of all, my grandchildren.
This entry was posted in character analysis, Childhood memories, Children, Duty, Jounal entry, Life's lessons, Out of Sight, short story, short story, That's Life! and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

