Making It by Hand, an Undeniable Joy

 

Making it by Hand

by Grama Trudy

Initially, crafting arose out of necessity, not out of desire; now it is relief of boredom, and an hobby. Most of the time if there is a need to express a thought, I make a card; if there is need to give a gift, I make it.

Granny  (my grandmother) versed me well in the art of creativity and sewing. In earlier years, I rarely spent time there at her house unless it was to learn or fulfill a need.

Now, it’s different; a great deal of time is spent creating, not because I have to, but because I want to. It is not usual for me to have various projects going at once.

One main project is making finger puppets. It all started because I saved bits and pieces of socks left over from making stuffed dolls for a great grandchild.

photo (2)      rock & sock doll & puppets     rock & sock doll   

                                                     photo (3)

The bits and pieces were set aside because I didn’t want to waste. I was thinking I may use them someday.

My daughter asks, “what are you going to do with these bits and pieces?’ I reply, “I don’t know. I haven’t figured that out yet.” She suggests, “Why not make some finger puppets.” I experiment with the concept until arriving at a solution and complete my first one            

     1st finger puppet                   baby and pup

It wasn’t very appealing, but with each attempt, the method and puppets evolve.

 

img_0621                                 puppetville

Initially they are completely hand stitched, now it’s a combination of machine and hand. The designs and methods are my own, developed through trial and error over time.

Two puppets that won second place ribbons at the fair are on display in our home now.

photo at fair                           puppet display

Newer creations may be seen on display on hand molds in other places in the house.

 

IMG_2205      IMG_2206  

 

                                  IMG_2207

 

IMG_2208                             IMG_2210

 

IMG_2202                              IMG_2203

Each puppet person I make is different; there are no two exactly the same.

They are intended for babies. But I have given them to adults. The puppets help interactions with a child, especially infants. They are a tool to help with the development and strengthening of the eye muscles and eye and hand coordination in infancy. They are also useful as a teething helper; the soft but firm construction allows the infant to bite down relieving their pain without adding to it.

p1         p5      img_0694   

 

img_0695        p6        rock & puppet1 

 

                                                   Rock & puppet2    

They are completely washable and dry able; they come out looking new again. That is a plus since they spend a lot of time in the infants mouth when they are teething. They are toys, pacifying the infant.

A puppet is a perfect companion for a small child when traveling, in public, or at home. A child’s attachment to the puppets grows as they play and interact with them; sleep with them, teeth with them. They learn to love them.

It warms my heart to see them enjoy them.

About gramatrudy

BA degree in English with a single subject certification 1994 I enjoy writing, art (all forms), quilting, sewing, embroidery, photography (still and video), and most of all, my grandchildren.
This entry was posted in Art, Children, Finger Puppets, Life's lessons and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Making It by Hand, an Undeniable Joy

  1. Pingback: Making It by Hand, an Undeniable Joy | Grama's space bubble

  2. What a gorgeous collection. You are talented. My crafiness arose by need also, when I became the Room Mom for my children’s class and had to make fancy awards. Yikes!

Leave a Reply

